1958 Milan-San Remo
Start Of 1958 Edition The great Belgian rider Rik Van Looy riding for the G.S. Faema team won the 49th Milan-San Remo. The race distance of 282 km was covered in a new record speed of 42.178 km/hour beating that set by the Spanish super sprinter Miguel Poblet the year before. Poblet would return to win again in 1959.

The 1958 San Remo was held on Wednesday 19 March. Milan was cool and misty at the start but conditions became ideal with no rain and little wind. Of the 215 riders setting out from Milan 140 would see the city of flowers.

Main photo above: Soon after the start - Rik Van Looy and eventual second placed rider Miguel Poblet in the compact group. The inset photo shows the riders awaiting the start.

Before the race start there was a minutes silence for Alessandro Carli, a race commisaire on the Giro, who was the victim of an automobile accident.

The race ignited after only 13 km when the young Italian rider from Calabrese, Catalano, attacked. Cainero, Planckaert and Proost of the Carpano team, along with Graczyk, Dante, Oriani, Guglielmoni and Privat soon joined him. René Privat (pictured at the front of the escape group on the right) riding for Mercier-BP, was the driving force of the nine man break. Just before Novi Ligure Jean Graczyk (Fra) was the victim of a puncture. Graczyk would not finish this race. However he went on to win stage five and the points classification of the Tour de France in 1958 and also took the victory in the 1959 Paris-Nice-Rome (the first and only time Paris-Nice had gone on to finish in Rome).

René Privat leads the break
Break down to 8 men Summit of Turchino
The determined lead group, now down to eight, is on the lower slopes of the Turchino Pass. Dante is at the front followed by Guglielmoni, Planckaert, Privat, Proost, Catalano, Oriani and Cainero. The break would lose another rider on the accent of the Turchino. Tino Oriani, who was more suited to track sprinting than the road, abandoned.
Break enters the Turchino tunnel
The break, Cainero, Dante, Guglielmoni, Privat, Proost, Planckaert and Catalano (not shown), enter the Turchino tunnel.
Part 2 >>
Photographs © La Gazzetta dello Sport

website statistics